CGCM logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CGCM Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling

TL;DR
  • CGCM is a Certified Graphic Communications Manager credential from IPMA, tested online at a conference or educational center.
  • Apply at least 30 days before your intended testing date; late applications are the most avoidable scheduling failure.
  • Official pages disagree on passing score: 70% per required module (current) versus 75% per part (legacy brochure).
  • Current exam fee is unverified; the 2016 figures were $300 for members and $600 for non-members.

Why CGCM Dates Don't Follow a Fixed Calendar

Candidates searching for "CGCM exam dates 2026" often expect a grid of fixed testing windows like those published for large vendor-run certifications. That is not how the Certified Graphic Communications Manager credential works. It is issued by IPMA, an association serving in-plant print and mail professionals, and testing is association-administered. The scheduling logic follows IPMA's own events and educational programming rather than a year-round network of commercial test centers.

As of the public sources reviewed on September 29, 2026, no publicly verified list of dated 2026 testing windows exists on the program pages we could confirm. That means any website that hands you an exact month-by-month calendar for this credential should be treated with caution. The honest approach is to understand the mechanics, confirm current offerings directly with IPMA, and work backward from the one hard rule that is documented: the application lead time.

A note on the credential name: The current official heading uses "Graphic Communications Manager," while "Graphics" appears as a legacy alias on older materials. Both refer to the same IPMA credential. If you see a similar acronym tied to a different certifying body, a different exam, or different fees, it is not this program, and its dates will not apply to you.

For a broader orientation to the credential itself, see What Is CGCM Certification? and What Does CGCM Stand For? before you start planning a sitting.

Where and How Sittings Are Offered

The documented delivery model is association-administered online testing at a conference or educational center. Two practical consequences follow from that description:

  • Sittings cluster around IPMA-connected events. Because testing happens at a conference or educational center, your options are tied to where and when those gatherings occur, not to a walk-in testing storefront.
  • No named external testing vendor is verified. You should not assume you can book a seat through a third-party scheduling portal. Registration runs through the association.

Whether remote, home-proctored delivery is permitted is also unverified. Do not plan on taking the exam from your living room or office desk unless IPMA confirms that option in writing for the sitting you intend to attend. Treat in-person attendance at the designated site as the working assumption, and build travel time into your plan.

What "online testing" does and does not tell you

"Online" here describes how the exam is delivered at the venue. It does not tell you that the exam is adaptive, that it is open-book, or that a calculator is allowed. Those rules are unverified in the public materials, and they matter for a credential that includes a financial management component. Ask about calculator policy and reference-material rules when you register rather than discovering them on test day.

The 30-Day Application Rule

The single most actionable scheduling fact is this: apply at least 30 days before testing. That is a floor, not a recommendation to wait until day 31. The application is not a simple checkout page. It involves documentation that takes time to gather, which is why starting early is the real strategy.

Key Takeaway

Count backward at least 30 days from any sitting you are considering, then add a buffer for collecting three recommendations and your ethics and application documents. If the buffer does not fit, aim for the next sitting rather than rushing an incomplete file.

Rushing is especially risky because recommendations depend on other people's schedules. A supervisor on vacation or a colleague at another facility can quietly consume two weeks of your timeline.

Paperwork You Need Before You Apply

Your date is only as firm as your application. The current requirements, drawn from the IPMA program materials, include:

  1. In-plant employment. The credential is aimed at managers working in in-plant print and mail environments.
  2. Five years of management experience. Document this carefully, since it is the requirement most likely to need supporting detail.
  3. Three recommendations. Line up recommenders early and brief them on the credential so their letters are specific.
  4. Ethics and application documents. Complete these thoroughly; incomplete files delay everything downstream.

One genuine ambiguity: membership eligibility conflicts across IPMA's official pages. Some materials suggest membership is part of eligibility, while others imply it is not required, and the 2016 fee structure distinguished member from non-member pricing. Because the sources disagree, do not assume either answer. Confirm your standing with IPMA before you commit to a date, since membership status can affect both whether you qualify and what you pay. Our CGCM requirements guide goes deeper on prerequisites and how to document them.

Format and Timing: What You Can and Cannot Plan Around

Scheduling a sitting means blocking out a day, so the length of the exam matters. Here the public record is split between current and legacy information:

ItemCurrent statusLegacy (2016-era) information
Question totalUnpublishedNot stated as a single count
Scored/unscored splitUnpublishedNot stated
Seat timeUnpublishedAbout six hours including lunch
StructureNot detailedFour parts, multiple-choice plus essays
Passing standard70% per required module75% per part (brochure)
Adaptive, open-book, calculator rulesUnverifiedUnverified

The legacy "about six hours" figure deserves careful reading. It includes lunch, so it does not mean six hours of timed testing. Plan for a full day at the venue, but do not assume you will face six continuous hours of questions. Because the current seat time is unpublished, treat the legacy figure as a rough planning envelope for blocking your calendar, not as a promise.

The legacy format also included essays alongside multiple-choice items. If that structure carries forward, your preparation should include writing clear, organized written responses on management topics, not only recognizing correct answers. Our difficulty guide discusses how the mix of question styles affects preparation.

Fees and Budgeting Around a Sitting

The current exam fee is unverified. The only documented figures are historical: in 2016, the member price was $300 and the non-member price was $600. Do not treat those as 2026 prices. They are useful mainly as a signal that membership status may have mattered financially, and that the structure may still differ for members and non-members.

Possible center charges may also apply when testing happens at a conference or educational center. Those could include venue-related costs that are separate from the exam fee. When you budget for a sitting date, include:

  • The exam fee as quoted by IPMA for your sitting
  • Any center or venue charges
  • Travel and lodging if the sitting is tied to a distant conference
  • Membership dues, if membership affects your pricing or eligibility

For a fuller breakdown of cost categories, see the CGCM certification cost guide.

Planning Backward From a Sitting Date

Once you have confirmed a sitting with IPMA, build a timeline from that date backward. The preparation content should follow the seven competencies listed in the 2016 issuer application, which the current IPMA program page still links. These are unweighted preparation headings, not a newly verified 2026 blueprint, so do not assume any one area counts more than another. Allocate time according to your own gaps.

The seven preparation areas

Use these as your study map. No current weighting is published, so none can be called largest.

  • Communications skills
  • Computer skills
  • Financial management
  • General management
  • Personnel management
  • Production management
  • Technical skills

Scheduling these sensibly matters more than cramming them evenly. A sample sequencing logic for a candidate working in an in-plant operation:

Weeks 1-2

Paperwork and your weakest area

  • Request your three recommendations and start the ethics and application documents
  • Begin with whichever of the seven areas is furthest from your daily job; a production supervisor may need financial management first, a finance-minded manager may need technical skills
Weeks 3-4

People and process

  • Review personnel management and general management, which draw on judgment and policy reasoning
  • Practice written explanations, since the legacy format included essays
Weeks 5-6

Numbers and systems

  • Work financial management problems and confirm the calculator policy for your sitting
  • Cover computer skills and technical skills tied to print and mail production workflows
Final week

Integration and logistics

  • Review production management scenarios that combine several areas at once
  • Confirm venue, arrival time, identification, and lunch arrangements for a full-day sitting

This sequence puts the heaviest-judgment material before the final week and leaves logistics for last. Adjust the length to your own availability; a candidate with a thin application file should spend more of the early weeks on documentation than on content. Detailed topic coverage is in the domains guide, and a full preparation approach is in the CGCM study guide. You can also test your readiness on the CGCM practice test site as your sitting approaches.

Open Questions to Settle Before You Book

Several unresolved conflicts in the public record directly affect how you should prepare and schedule. Raise these with IPMA before you lock in a sitting:

Passing score conflict: The current overview requires 70% on each required module, while the legacy brochure says 75% per part. These are different thresholds and different units (modules versus parts). Until IPMA confirms which applies to your sitting, prepare toward the higher bar and treat per-module performance as the thing to protect. See the passing score guide for more.
  • Module versus part structure. If scoring is per module, a weak area cannot be hidden by a strong one. Plan to be competent in all seven areas rather than excellent in a few.
  • Retake rules. The materials reviewed do not give verified retake timing or fees, so ask what happens if you need a second attempt and how that affects your next available sitting.
  • Pass rate. No pass rate is publicly disclosed, so beware of any published percentage. Our pass rate article covers what can and cannot be said.
  • Delivery rules. Confirm open-book status, calculator permissions, and whether any adaptive format applies.

After the Exam: Renewal and Career Timing

Thinking about dates does not end at test day. Legacy materials describe a renewal cycle of five years with 15 professional credits. Whether that cycle still applies, and what the current renewal fee is, remain unverified, so ask IPMA when you pass rather than assuming the legacy terms. Put a reminder on your calendar well ahead of any renewal deadline once you have it confirmed.

If you are weighing whether the timing makes sense for your career, consider where you are in your management path. The credential targets in-plant print and mail managers, so the strongest case is a manager already running or about to run operations who wants a recognized credential for that role. For context on outcomes, see the salary guide, the ROI analysis, and the CGCM jobs overview. If you are still in early preparation, the training overview can help you choose a path.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are there fixed CGCM exam dates for 2026?

No verified list of dated 2026 testing windows appears in the public program materials reviewed. Testing is association-administered through IPMA at a conference or educational center, so confirm available sittings directly with IPMA.

How far ahead should I apply?

Apply at least 30 days before your testing date. Add extra time for gathering three recommendations and your ethics and application documents, since those depend on other people.

How much does the exam cost?

The current fee is unverified. Historical 2016 fees were $300 for members and $600 for non-members, and center charges may also apply. Get the current quote from IPMA before budgeting.

How long is the exam day?

Current seat time is unpublished. The legacy format ran about six hours including lunch, across four parts mixing multiple-choice and essays. That is not six hours of timed testing, but plan for a full day.

What score do I need to pass?

Sources conflict. The current overview cites 70% per required module, while a legacy brochure cites 75% per part. Confirm the applicable standard with IPMA and prepare toward the higher figure in the meantime.

Ready to pass your CGCM exam?

Put this into practice with free CGCM questions across every exam domain.